Loose Leaf Tarot

Daily draw: Page of Wands

Leave a comment

Page of Wands

I pulled this card reversed a couple days ago, as a daily draw exercise. Drawing a card each day (or, okay, most days) is a new practice for me, so I’m not sure if I’ll continue to consider reversals or not. But I think it will be good practice for me to look at reversed cards outside the context of a spread. Just in the context of my day.

As a page, this little guy stands for a younger person, or for qualities that are developing and “childlike.” I almost always look at the court cards as being aspects of personality, except when the spread seems to indicate it’s definitely a real person.

I usually think of this page as being inspiration/creativity in its early, fragile, exciting phase, before things really start to happen. While I was looking at it this time, I noticed the way the page is gazing up at the top of the staff, almost beyond it to the sky. There’s idealism there, as well as inspiration.

Appropriately enough, I connected this card with my recent re-dedication to taroty things, and this new journal in particular. The reversal, in that context, could be a warning not to stay a page forever. Enjoy the initial spark, but move on to a later stage or risk losing interest. This character can be a dilettante if she never stops gazing dreamily at every cool new thing that inspires her. She’s got to stoke the fire and get things cooking on it.

So here’s my post, in honor of the Page of Wands.

Share your thoughts...

